About OEPDC - Oregon Educator Professional Development

The Oregon Educator Professional Development Commission was established by Senate Bill 443 in 2009 “for the purpose of providing statewide collaborative leadership for prekindergarten through post-secondary education in the areas of school improvement.”  This legislation came about through the efforts of a number of interested parties, notably the Oregon Education Association (OEA) and the Chalkboard Project, a non-profit education advocacy group.  In the words of Chalkboard:


“To make ends meet, many school districts have slashed professional development budgets, which were already meager. Senate Bill 443 funds an easy-access, web-based clearinghouse listing high-quality professional development programs for teachers, professional development coursework standards, and other common-sense approaches to improve the professional practice of teachers.”


The Commission was charged through this legislative mandate to perform two specific tasks:

  • Develop and maintain a public website for posting and sharing professional development opportunities, and
  • Assist local school districts in developing professional development plans to meet school improvement objectives.

Governor's Office Rep


Marjorie J. Lowe

Office of the Governor, PSB

E-Mail: marjorie.lowe@state.or.us

Term(s): 02/01/2010 - 01/01/2011

Senate President's Appointment


Rick Metsger, State Senator

E-Mail: sen.rickmetsger@state.or.us

Term(s): 02/01/2010 - 01/01/2011

House Speaker's Appointment

Arnie Roblan, State Representative

E-Mail: rep.arnieroblan@state.or.us

Term(s): 02/01/2010 - 01/01/2011

Department of Education Rep


Colleen K. Mileham, Assistant Superintendent

Department of Education

E-Mail: colleen.mileham@state.or.us

Term(s): 02/01/2010 - 01/01/2012


Bill Beck, Commissioner

Teacher Standards and Practices Commission

E-Mail: billjudybeck@comcast.net

Term(s): 02/01/2010 - 01/01/2013

Higher Education Rep


Randy A. Hitz, Ph.D.

Portland State University

E-Mail: hitz@pdx.edu

Term(s): 02/01/2010 - 01/01/2012

Not-for-profit Private Higher Education

Linda L. Samek

George Fox University

E-Mail: lsamek@georgefox.edu

Term(s): 02/01/2010 - 01/01/2012

Community College Rep

Serena E. St. Clair, Ph.D.

Rogue Community College

E-Mail: sstclair@roguecc.edu

Term(s): 02/01/2010 - 01/01/2013

Education Service District Rep


Jim Mabbott

Northwest Regional ESD

E-Mail: jmabbott@nwresd.k12.or.us

Term(s): 02/01/2010 - 01/01/2012

Education Service District Rep


Debbie J. Egan

Lane Education Service District

E-Mail: degan@lesd.k12.or.us

Term(s): 02/01/2010 - 01/01/2013

School District Superintendent


Karen F. Gray, Ph.D.

Parkrose School District

E-Mail: karen_gray@parkrose.k12.or.us

Term(s): 02/01/2010 - 01/01/2013



Jeffrey C. Hellman

E-Mail: jhellman@gmail.com

Term(s): 02/01/2010 - 01/01/2012



Karen L. Hoffman

Beaverton Education Association

E-Mail: karen_hoffman@beavton.k12.or.us

Term(s): 02/01/2010 - 01/01/2011

Classified Rep (OSEA)


Trevor A. White

Eugene School District 4J

E-Mail: white_t@4j.lane.edu

Term(s): 02/01/2010 - 01/01/2013


Brian Lemos

Redmond High School


Minutes from the Commission's quarterly meetings are attached below.

Filed under: